Thursday, 26 July 2012

Danske Bank Unveiled as New Premiership Sponsor

Irish FA Press Release

Irish FA unveils Danske Bank as new Premiership sponsors

Pictured at Windsor Park (L-R) Aubry Ralph, Chairman
of the Irish FA Premiership Management Committee;
Gerry Mallon, Northern Bank Chief Executive,
and Patrick Nelson, Irish FA Chief Executive. 
The Irish FA today announced Danske Bank as the new title sponsor of the Premiership.

The Danske Bank Premiership, as the league will now be named, kicks off on 11 August and marks a significant investment by the bank in local football.
Danske Bank is the parent company of local bank Northern Bank, which will rebrand as Danske Bank in November.

Irish FA Chief Executive Patrick Nelson is excited by the new sponsorship, saying: “We are absolutely delighted to announce this sponsorship. The Danske Bank Premiership is the flagship competition in domestic football in Northern Ireland and is followed by thousands of loyal supporters each week.

“Danske Bank is a great example of the calibre of partners that we are attracting and working with. This investment into the highest level of our local game will be a huge support in developing the league; and along with media exposure, will undoubtedly help to raise the Premiership’s profile and attendance at games around the country.”

Northern Bank Chief Executive Gerry Mallon said: “The Danske Bank Premiership is a really significant and exciting sponsorship for us and marks the first time our new brand identity will be visible in the market. This is another sign of Danske Bank’s commitment to the local market. Like ourselves, the Irish FA has a long heritage in Northern Ireland as an integral part of the local community so this Premiership sponsorship is a great fit for both organisations. We look forward to working in partnership with the Irish FA and to the start of the new season.”

The opening fixtures in the 2012/13 Danske Bank Premiership see champions Linfield travel to Ballymena United, whilst newcomers Ballinamallard United open with a home fixture against Dungannon Swifts. Cliftonville welcome Glenavon to Solitude, Coleraine face Crusaders, Glentoran play Donegal Celtic, and Portadown tackle Lisburn Distillery in what is sure to be an exciting open day in the Danske Bank Premiership.

Danske Bank Premiership – Saturday 11 August 2012 (3pm kick-off)
Ballinamallard United v Dungannon Swifts
Ballymena United v Linfield
Cliftonville v Glenavon
Coleraine v Crusaders
Glentoran v Donegal Celtic
Portadown v Lisburn Distillery

A full list of fixtures can be at

Tuesday, 24 July 2012

IRN-BRU League Cup 2012/13

Irish FA Press Release
IRN-BRU’s Zara Shaw is aboard the IRN-BRU Bus along with the players and managers the launch of the 2012/13 IRN-BRU League Cup.
The IRN-BRU League Cup 2012/13 competition launched, with the draw for Rounds 1 and 2 throwing up some exciting ties.

IRN-BRU’s Head of International, Gavan Morris
alongside Northern Ireland Manager, Michael O’Neill
at the launch of the 2012/13 IRN-BRU League Cup.
The Championship clubs entered the draw in Round 1 with 10 sides receiving byes into Round 2, whilst the remaining 20 teams battle it out for a chance to play the Premiership clubs in the next round.  Loughgall face Lurgan Celtic in what is potentially the tie of the round, with Knockbreda welcoming Warrenpoint Town to East Belfast.  Ballyclare Comrades, who came within seconds of knocking Linfield out of last season’s competition, face a trip to Dergview.

The draw for Round 2 was seeded with the Premiership clubs and the top four finishers in last season’s Championship avoiding each other.  Holders Crusaders begin the defence of their trophy with a home tie against the winner of the Glebe Rangers v Larne Round 1 match, whilst last season’s runners-up, Coleraine, have a local derby ahead of them with a trip to Ballymoney United.  The winner of the Ards v Annagh United Round 1 tie have a home game against Linfield to look forward to, and Glentoran await the winners of the PSNI v Chimney Corner Round 1 match.

Head of Marketing at AG Barr, Adrian Troy said “This is the second year of the IRN-BRU League Cup sponsorship and we are delighted to be supporting football in Northern Ireland. Last year’s competition was exciting, dramatic and packed with goals. This year we will again be recognising some great goals with our ‘Ginger Boot’ award and we will highlight outstanding performance in each round with our ‘IRN Man’ award. We look forward to another phenomenal season of football.”

Chairman of the Premiership Committee, Aubry Ralph said: “Last season was a brilliant introduction into domestic football in Northern Ireland for IRN-BRU with their sponsorship of the League Cup, and I have no doubt that this season will be another success.  Their unique approach to promoting the competition has been a breath of fresh air and I am sure that this season will be no different.”

Fixtures and Dates:
Round 1 -    14 August 2012 (745pm kick-off)
1.     Banbridge Town  v  Queen’s University
2.     Moyola Park  v  Tobermore United
3.     Sport & Leisure Swifts v Wakehurst
4.     Ards  v  Annagh United
5.     Loughgall  v  Lurgan Celtic
6.     Portstewart  v  H & W Welders
7.     PSNI  v  Chimney Corner
8.     Knockbreda  v  Warrenpoint Town
9.     Dergview  v  Ballyclare Comrades
10.  Glebe Rangers  v  Larne

Byes: Carrick Rangers, Newry City, Bangor, Institute, Killymoon Rangers, Armagh City, Dundela, Banbridge Town, Sport & Leisure Swifts, Ballymoney United

Round 2 -   27 August 2012 (745pm kick-off)

1.     Crusaders  v  Glebe Rangers or Larne
2.     Killymoon Rangers  v  Carrick Rangers
3.     Ards or Annagh United  v  Linfield
4.     Glentoran  v  PSNI or Chimney Corner
5.     Dergview or Ballyclare Comrades  v  Newry City
6.     Ballymena United  v  Loughgall or Lurgan Celtic
7.     Cliftonville  v Moyola Park or Tobermore United
8.     Portstewart or H & W Welders  v  Donegal Celtic
9.     Knockbreda or Warrenpoint Town  v  Ballinamallard United
10.  Bangor  v  Armagh City
11.  Dundela  v  Portadown
12.  Banbridge Town  or Queen’s University  v  Institute
13.  Limavady United  v  Lisburn Distillery
14.  Sport & Leisure Swifts or Wakehurst  v  Glenavon
15.  Ballymoney United  v  Coleraine
16.  Dungannon Swifts  v  Coagh United

Keep up to date with the IRN-BRU League cup at

Sunday, 22 January 2012

Irish League Representative Match Programmes 1898-1902

Irish League Representative Match Programmes
- 1890-1897 - 1898-1902 - 1903-1909 - 1909-1913 - 1913-1921 - 1921-1925 -
- 1965-1970 - 1970-1986 - 1987-1990 - 1990-2012 -
Northern Ireland Match Programmes
Full - U23 - U21 - Amateur - JuniorRepresentative -
29/01/1898 - Scottish League - Lost 0-5
Can you fill this space?

05/11/1898 - Football League - Lost 1-5
Can you fill this space?

11/02/1899 - Scottish League - W 3-1
Can you fill this space?

11/11/1899 - Football League - Lost 1-3
Can you fill this space?

17/02/1900 - Scottish League - Lost 0-6
Can you fill this space?

10/11/1900 - Football League - Lost 2-4
Can you fill this space?

16/02/1901 - Scottish League - Lost 1-2
Can you fill this space?

09/11/1901 - Football League - Lost 0-9
Can you fill this space?

15/02/1902 - Scottish League - Lost 0-3
Can you fill this space?

11/10/1902 - Football League - Lost 2-3

Match Itinerary

With thanks to Tubby Morton from the OWC forum.

Monday, 9 January 2012

Irish League Junior and Youth Representative Match Programmes

Irish League Representative Match Programmes
- 1890-1897 - 1898-1902 - 1903-1909 - 1909-1913 - 1913-1921 - 1921-1925 -
- 1925-1928 - 1929-1932 - 1933-1937 - 1938-1942 - 1943-1947 - 1947-1949 -
- 1965-1970 - 1970-1986 - 1987-1990 - 1990-2007 -
- Junior/Youth -
Northern Ireland Match Programmes
Full - U23 - U21 - Representative -
More to follow
23/04/1982 - Irish League B Division v League of Ireland B Division

With thanks to Tubby Morton from the OWC forum.